Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

IMAG0977-1

Welcome to my first post as a “blogger”, although I don’t think I have yet earned that title.  Only time will tell.

I was vaguely considering the idea of blogging when I happened upon Ruth Soukup’s new e-book, “How to Blog for Profit Without Selling Your Soul”.  I  anticipated a good read, as all of her posts and resources are (check out http://www.livingwellspendingless.com).

I wasn’t so much thinking about the money as I began reading, and even less so as I continued, for this book was a wealth of practical information on blogging itself:  how to determine your purpose for having a blog, how to establish yourself as a blogger (and how long it will take), how to write compelling content, how to gain readership, and, of course, how to make money.  I decided to work through the action steps of those first few chapters, and here I am, less than a week later, on my way.

I have always loved writing.  My first major work was “The Mystery at Belleview” as a fourth grader; the three main characters in my 16-page, double-spaced, hand-written story (with a Table of Contents) were named after my teachers.  I wanted to be a writer throughout grade school and high school, but when I started college, I decided to pursue Elementary Education, because I also loved working with children.  After a year, I  became the editor of my school newspaper.

The desire to teach faded, and, after two years of practically living in the cramped journalism office, almost single-handedly editing and publishing our newspaper, I inevitably burned out.  After obtaining my Associate’s Degree, I took a year off to figure out what in the world I was going to study now.  Film? Music History? History? English?  (All big money-makers, I know.)

After consulting the course handbook for inspiration, I transferred to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee to study Communication with plans to obtain a Master’s in Community Counseling.  I earned my bachelor’s degree with honors, began my Master’s, met my future husband, became distracted:) and disillusioned with my Master’s program (not much of a job market for those in Community Counseling- at the time), dropped out, got married, had five children in eight years, and here I am, an almost 39 year old wife and stay-at-home, homeschooling mom.

Oh, sure, I’ve done some writing along the way: short articles for my church or the local newspaper, a bit of journaling, the beginnings of stories, but nothing to establish myself as a writer.  So, this blogging idea drew me in, because it allows me the freedom to write frequently, randomly, honestly about whatever is stirring within me.  There are no obligations (other than to be interesting to the audience and regularly posting something), and I can explore the edges of my writing and hopefully extend it into something full-fledged.

If you are still with me after all of that, thanks!  I skimmed over the past 12 years because that is what my life now consists of: a full house with a husband and five children who I am daily building my life with.  That is what you will be hearing about when you visit me here.  I hope you will join me on the journey to abundant life.

What inspired you to begin blogging?  Or, is there another dream in your heart that won’t go away?

Blessings to you, friend.  Maybe I will “see” you again tomorrow.

Aimee

